Skip Navigation
List Price: $57.24

Rent Book

Select for Price
Add to Cart Free Shipping
There was a problem. Please try again later.

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

A Good Death,9781250012319

A Good Death

by
Format: Hardcover
Pub. Date: 2/19/2013
Publisher(s): Minotaur Books
Availability: This title is currently not available.

Summary

A nail-biting debut mystery that plunges readers into the seamy side streets of Bangkok and across violent Lao hill county This expertly crafted debut introduces Sebastian Damon, a sharp-witted and likeable though down-on-his-luck Boston PI who catches an intriguing case. Linda Watts is a beautiful, talented Lao immigrant with a promising careeror she was, until she turns up dead in a cheap Bangkok guest house. Her death seems like a straightforward overdose to the Thai authorities, but her insurance company isn't buying it. They hire Sebastian to travel halfway around the world to investigate, and so he finds himself completely out of place chasing faint leads through the broken streets of Bangkok. An award-winning journalist with decades of experience traveling in and reporting on Southeast Asia, Christopher Cox takes readers on a vibrant journey through a corrupt and labyrinthine police bureaucracy, a network of steamy Bangkok nightclubs, and grimy hostels to a place where you can you feel the humid air and smell the frying street food. Along the way, he sprinkles in elements of romance as Sebastian finds himself falling for the beautiful and captivatingly mysterious Linda, and camaraderie with his father's wise-cracking old Army buddy, a source who proves invaluable in navigating the back streets. For Sebastian, it's the assignment of a lifetime, a journey that will change him forever in this richly imagined, compelling debut perfect for fans of John Burdett and Colin Cotterill.

Author Biography

An award-winning journalist, CHRISTOPHER R. COX has written on and traveled extensively through Southeast Asia for more than 20 years.  His work has appeared in The Boston Herald, Reader’s Digest, Conde Nast Traveler, Audubon, Men’s Journal and ESPN: The Magazine

Table of Contents

“A first rate mystery, beautifully crafted, fast-paced, and populated with the most vivid (and at times seamy) characters. But what lifts this novel way above most others are the exquisitely realized settings, from sizzling Bankok nightclubs to the deep, suffocating jungles of Laos. A bravura debut!” --Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling co-author of the Pendergast series of novels

A Good Death takes readers into the wild, wild east of Thailand, Vietnam, and Laos—and keeps them there with an engaging mystery, told by compelling, complex characters.  Like its exotic locales, Mr. Cox’s vibrant, colorful, and crisp prose will capture your attention from beginning to the end.”  --Loung Ung, national bestselling author of First They Killed My Father

“Christopher R. Cox blends grit, heart, and a reporter’s eye to create unforgettable characters and a haunting story. He brings Bangkok alive in detail that will make you feel you’ve walked its perilous streets yourself. A Good Death  is a great debut!” –Steve Uldelfer, Edgar-nominated author of The Whole Lie

An electronic version of this book is available through VitalSource.

This book is viewable on PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and most smartphones.

By purchasing, you will be able to view this book online, as well as download it, for the chosen number of days.

A downloadable version of this book is available through the eCampus Reader or compatible Adobe readers.

Applications are available on iOS, Android, PC, Mac, and Windows Mobile platforms.

Please view the compatibility matrix prior to purchase.

Visa
Mastercard
American Express
Comodo
McAfee