Skip Navigation
List Price: $34.70

Rent Book

Select for Price
Add to Cart Free Shipping
There was a problem. Please try again later.

New Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Used Book

We're Sorry
Sold Out

Sparky and Me My Friendship with Sparky Anderson and the Lessons He Shared About Baseball and Life,9781250031273

Sparky and Me My Friendship with Sparky Anderson and the Lessons He Shared About Baseball and Life

by
Edition: Reprint
Format: Paperback
Pub. Date: 5/21/2013
Publisher(s): St. Martin's Griffin
Availability: This title is currently not available.

Summary

In the tradition of Tuesdays With Morrie, Dan Ewald pens a memoir of his friendship with legendary Tigers manager Sparky Anderson, the man who taught him not only the nuances of baseball, but the importance of life's unwritten rulesIn the tradition of Tuesdays With Morrie, Dan Ewald pens a memoir of his friendship with legendary Tigers manager Sparky Anderson, the man who taught him not only the nuances of baseball, but the importance of life's unwritten rules.Few sports figures, regardless of their position, have generated as much good will as Sparky Anderson, the legendary manager for the Cincinnati Reds and the Detroit Tigers. Sparky met author Dan Ewald, in 1979, and thus was born a lifelong friendship not likely ever to be seen again in baseball. Along the way, Dan never took for granted the front row seat he had to watch one of history's most memorable managers' absolute mastery of baseball's nuances and intricacies.But the most important things Sparky taught Dan were the "unwritten rules" of life, which he practiced meticulously. To Sparky, a real professional was as great away from the diamond as he was on it. His goal was for his players to be the best husbands, fathers, and community leaders they could be - he believed that was the mark of a winner, not the box score. Sparky had a gift for taking something as inane as the infield fly rule and turning it into a lecture on how to lead amore meaningful life.In 2010, the old friends had planned a get-together before the end of the year. But Sparky's health was taking a turn for the worse, so Dan arranged a three-day visit as quickly as he could. During their last days together, the friends recalled the memories of a lifetime as each prepared silently for their final good-bye. When that weekend came to a close, Dan had grown to appreciate Sparky more than he ever thought he could. In this heartfelt memoir, Dan imparts to readers his best friend's spirit through his unforgettable life lessons and stories only the two of them shared."Like a wizard, Sparky Anderson was white-haired and wise, and sitting with him was like visiting with an oracle. Dan Ewald, who spent more time with Sparky than any of us, beautifully captures the magic of Sparky's wit, humor, and humanity in these pages. All baseball fans should read it." - Mitch Albom, New York Times bestselling author of Tuesdays with Morrie and Have a Little Faith"No one understood Sparky better than Dan Ewald. Managing people in a scope far broader than a pennant race is a rare quality, and Sparky understood people, their insecurities, their motivations. This is a great read, a great understanding of the humanity of playing baseball." - Peter Gammons, MLB Network"For decades, it seemed like everyone in baseball knew Sparky Anderson, and almost all of us considered him a friend. But few knew him as Dan Ewald did. Here, Dan provides a unique look at an endearing man who led a significant life both in and out of the game." - Bob Costas"I could listen to the great Sparky Anderson talk all day about anything. Sparky and Me made me feel like I was sitting right next to him, learning his life lessons.Wonderful." - Tim Kurkj ian, ESPN baseball commentator"There's a difference between a good manager and a great one. . . .The good one will tell you there is more than one way to skin a cat. The great one will convince the cat it's necessary. Sparky had the cats carrying knives to him." - Hall of Famer Johnny Bench

Author Biography

DANIEL EWALD is a sports writer who worked as the public relations director for the Detroit Tigers for eighteen years.  During that time, he became close friends with Sparky Anderson, whose career he managed for thirty-two years and with whom he authored three books.

An electronic version of this book is available through VitalSource.

This book is viewable on PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and most smartphones.

By purchasing, you will be able to view this book online, as well as download it, for the chosen number of days.

A downloadable version of this book is available through the eCampus Reader or compatible Adobe readers.

Applications are available on iOS, Android, PC, Mac, and Windows Mobile platforms.

Please view the compatibility matrix prior to purchase.

Visa
Mastercard
American Express
Comodo
McAfee